Beethoven Symphonies

Beethoven Symphonies

Symphony No. 1, Vienna Philharmonic, Christian Thielemann conducting —

Symphony No. 2 —

Symphony No. 3 (Eroica) —

Symphony No. 4 —

Symphony No. 5 —

Symphony No. 6 (Pastoral) —

Symphony No. 7 —

Symphony No. 8 —

Symphony No. 9 (Choral) —

Discovering Beethoven with Christian Thielemann

The Unfinished Symphony 

In 1827, the year of his death, Beethoven wrote fragmentary sketches for the first movement of what he intended to be the tenth symphony.

The fragments were assembled in 1988 by English musicologist and Beethoven scholar Barry Cooper to create Symphony No. 10 in E♭ major.

Cooper’s score, which has been described as a hypothetical work, was first performed at a concert in 1988 by the Royal Philharmonic Society of London, to whom Beethoven had originally offered the new symphony.

Artificial intelligence was used to reconstruct the third ‘Scherzo, Allegro’ and fourth ‘Rondo’ movements of the symphony, which premiered in October, 2021, titled ‘Beethoven X: The AI Project.’

Beethoven died in his apartment in the Schwarzspanierhaus, Vienna, on March 26, 1827, at the age of 56 following a long illness. The actual cause of death was unclear, although it included severe liver damage from alcohol and possibly hepatitis.

Back to the front page